Finders Keepers, right?

My job is… a cleaning gig of sorts.
I’m a car detailer, to be more precise. About half the vehicles I detail are units that have been traded in. Unwanted, 2 to 6 year old things already being shoved aside for something younger, faster, stronger. But I will remove the garbage that has been carelessly jammed into its every crevice; vacuum the gravel and dirt and fries and mysterious half-eaten goodies; Wipe, wash, rinse, and scrub to restore even a  fracture of its dignity.
And occasionally, perhaps out of its gratitude, I am rewarded. Sometimes in nickels, dimes and pennies. A loonie on a good day.
A 20 dollar bill on a really, really good day. ( Woohoo! Free lunch!)
And  a diamond ring on an exceptional day.
I kid you not.
Just a couple inches out of suction reach of the vacuum hose, in a pile of sand and dirt, it sat. Blingy things and sparkly rings don’t usually turn my head, (Except when my husband and I got engaged. I was then totally transfixed, and it’s a wonder I never walked into walls or drove off any roads!) but when I saw that small metallic circle I just had to be sure. Just had to get a closer look. Just had to –
“Wow…”
I turned it over in my awkward, blue-gloved hands. It was pretty. It appeared to be an engagement ring; A diamond in the center, and a few smaller sparklers on each side. White gold.
This was the first real treasure I had ever found in a used vehicle. I assumed it was real anyways. Closer inspection revealed inside the band, ’10KLIBCO’. Whatever that means…10 karat, something-or-other. Sounds real to me. So I took it up to the managers. It was kept in a safe place as they spent nearly two months trying to get a hold of the vehicle’s previous owners and leaving them voice mails.
Now, it is in my hands.
I suppose one person’s misfortune, is another one’s fortune. I was both excited and uncertain to be handed over this ring. Did we try hard enough to  find the owners? Maybe they were on holidays..? What do I do with it? Should I sell it? What if someone suddenly calls back?
My husband and I want to get it appraised, then probably sell it. And then what? Maybe put the money towards school, or fixing the lifeless honda in the driveway, or just adding to the ol’ savings account. But… part of me just wouldn’t feel quite right about any of those options.
Every so often, it is laid on my heart that my money is not my own. My fortunes and blessings don’t end with me. That ring hasn’t made it very far yet, but if it does get sold, I would like to see at least some of the money go somewhere other than my pocket. Maybe the church; someone in need; a charity or fundraiser of sort; etc.
I’m trying to grasp the meaning of generosity. Through observing fellow peers, I can see I’ve got a long ways to go. But  I try to keep this thought in my head, when something good comes my way…
Blessed, so we can bless. Given so we can give. Pay it forward, right?
So maybe, in a sense, it shouldn’t be finders keepers, should it?

                  
 
3 thoughts on “Finders Keepers, right?

Leave a Reply

