Live Simply…

“Live Simply, so that others may Simply Live” .

At last Sunday’s Young Adults study, we watched a video clip from a series of discussions involving Tony Campolo and Shane Claiborne. ( “Simply Enough” ) The focus of this clip was lifestyle. One of the questions the video challenged us with was;
“Are you living as Jesus wants us to live?”
Tony brought up 1 John 3:16-18 ~
“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers. If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.” ( NIV)

Just this past Monday, a few of us had the privilege of attending the annual Hope International Banquet. An event that included dinner, a raffle, silent and live auctions. Donations help the poor across the world in numerous ways; educating, building clean water systems, teaching families sustainable agriculture, etc.
As I scanned the tables of hand-made goods for the silent auction, carefully deciding where to place my bids, it somehow slipped my mind the hands that had made some of these items. Perhaps not so unlike my own. Maybe more scarred, more callused from long days of work just to eat a simple meal; or darker and wrinkled, from toiling all day in the sun.

In the last 24 hours, I’ve noticed and have come to strongly dislike how tightly I hold onto my dollars. We received a form from our church the other day, stating how much we had given from ___ to ____. And I felt ashamed of the number. ‘Is that all we tithed?’
Then at this Hope Banquet, as my husband and I are filling out the donation envelopes, I found myself nearly bartering with him as to what we should give! He said a number, and then I said something lower, and we just stared at each other. Then wrote down his number. And I’m glad. I’m glad for a generous husband, who loves to give. Whose goal is to give a little more each year, than the previous.
I want to stop staring greedily at the numbers in my bank account. These treasures fade. Besides, none of it is really mine anyways.
It is all God’s.

Live simply, so that others may simply live.

( A challenge to you as well as myself!)

One thought on “Live Simply…

Leave a Reply

