Love is…


4
Love is patient, love is kind.
It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
5 It does not dishonor others,
it is not self-seeking,
it is not easily angered, it keeps
no record of wrongs.
6 Love does not delight in evil but
rejoices with the truth.
7 It always protects, always trusts,
always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails.”     ( 1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

A common passage, it seems. Most of us have heard this. Likely, during a wedding ceremony, or an anniversary. I came across these verses the other day in my devotions. How familiar the words, yet how far I am from this perfect Love. Or at least, in achieving this perfect Love.
How often have I held a grudge? Muttered curses at the driver who cuts me off?
How often have I approached the day with a ‘me-first’ attitude?
How often have I become frustrated with people? Or judged somebody?

For as long as we are of flesh, I don’t know if we’ll ever Love like this; Love so perfectly. But I am thankful for the One who teaches and guides me, in my life-long quest to do so. Love like this – completely selfless – can shake up this world. In fact, it already has.
Radical Love. I think I like the sound of that.

“37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”   ( Matthew 22:37-39)

What are some ways we can selflessly, and radically love others today?

Leave a Reply

