Too much Stinkin’ Thinking

As a married woman, I feel I am not alone in admitting that, there comes a point when it feels like I am just waiting. My husband is pursuing a career path, and I fully support him in this journey. But lately I’ve found myself thinking…
What about me?
I perused the local college website, to see if anything out there would ignite even so much as a spark in me…
~Visual Arts? For four years? No, thank you.
~Bookkeeping? Office, payrolls, numbers, accounting, management… I think I’ll see what else is out there…
~Teacher’s assistant? But, then I’d be talking to people ALL the time, wouldn’t I? (Introvert alert, right here) Then again, mostly little people… right..?
Wait… can I even teach??
~ Hospitality and Tourism? Maybe I could do that… (Oh, but that people thing is pretty dominant here too, isn’t it?) I could work at a hotel or visitor information center…
Nope, no spark.
Maybe I need some new sticks…
I like my job well enough for right now, but eventually I will need to broaden myself somehow. Expand my mind and pursue some sort of education; or expand my heart and start a family; expand my spirit and dive into ministry…
I just don’t want to wake up 5 years from now, and realize I have not grown in any areas of my life.
Because if we are not growing, what then distinguishes us from that which is dead?

3 thoughts on “Too much Stinkin’ Thinking

  1. You don’t want to wake up in 5 years to realise that you haven’t grown, but you’re not prepared to study for 4 short years?
    Learning is a life long journey. Each unit of study that I complete gives me new skills and a new way of thinking. I’m not in a rush to get the certificate at the end, because I see the benefit in taking my time- to get as much out of it as possible.
    If you are creative then reconsider doing the arts course. Just take your time with it. Study part time, just a couple of units each semester. If you are doing something you enjoy it will not feel like work and you will be richer for it.

    Holding the certificate at the end of the course is just a bonus in my eyes. The real benefit is in the experience.

    Good luck.

    • I appreciate your input. I confess it was kind of a bad day. I realize, that in most areas of my life, I do tend to put most of the focus on the end goal, rather than enjoying the process; the experience; the journey.
      The problem is, I think I just think too much. 😛

  2. I’m thinking through the same things, asking God which direction to go. Praying that He would guide and direct you into something that ticks all the boxes and makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

