Pickin’ up the Book

After skimming some other blog posts today, some of which made a reference to C.S. Lewis, I was reminded of a book I bought a while back: ‘Mere Christianity’.
However – and, this seems to be the norm for me lately – I put the book down after the first couple chapters, and never picked it up again. ( Even despite my initial eagerness to absorb everything this brilliant man had to say about anything!)
Today though, is a new day.
Most mornings, I start the day off doing devotions. My imperfect attempt at drawing closer to God, tangled with morning ADD, mediocre coffee, and scribbled ramblings/prayer. But lately I’ve found that this alone is not enough to stimulate my mind; not enough to deepen my understanding of God, of Christianity; not enough to get me inspired or excited about Kingdom work.
In NO way am I implying God is not enough for me.
But it is certainly not enough on my part to call myself a Christian, do devotions, go to church, and repeat steps 1-3.
Before I go off on a tangent about my failings and shortcomings as a Christian, however, this is the idea I’m getting to:
I am finally going to read the book.
( Go ahead; Hold me to it!)
It’s not exactly an answer, just an attempt to stimulate that dusty brain of mine.
Also, as an attempt to blog a little more regularly, I will record my findings.That is, write down what inspired me, what I learned, what I’m sorting through, etc… And of course, please feel free to comment!

Chapter 1 done, and a reflective quote for the evening:

“These, then, are the two points I wanted to make. First, that human beings, all over the earth, have this curious idea that they ought to behave in a certain way, and cannot really get rid of it. Secondly, that  they do not in fact behave in that way. They know the Law of Nature; they break it. These two facts are  the foundation of all clear thinking about ourselves and the universe we live in.” (pg. 8, ‘Mere Christianity’, C.S. Lewis)

One thought on “Pickin’ up the Book

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog…I’m not even sure how I ended up on it. It literally just popped up on my ipad 🙂 I have been blessed and encouraged by your processing and musings. Thank you for sharing your journey of faith. I also felt led to tell you about a workbook I just finished about intimacy with God. It’s called God Speaks, by Glen J. Martin. It’s self-published, so if you’re interested, I think you can get it by emailing him (glen.joel.martin@gmail.com). I was really encouraged as I read and worked through it in my quiet times.

    Love in Christ,
    Natalie (wordprocessor)

Leave a Reply

