Autumn; My Season of Reflection

I woke up this morning feeling…
Well…
Certainly not ‘glad’.
In fact, I was in quite the conflict with my body, as my abdomen throbbed, my head pounded, my nose ran, and my skin became ultra sensitive to every touch.
At least the sore throat is gone’, I thought to myself. But this did nothing to ease my other discomforts. I then became down and out about a couple other realizations;
1) This was the one weekend in which my husband had both Saturday and Sunday off; a rarity we won’t see again till school lets out around May; And
2) The Church BBQ kick off was today. Again, one of the few gatherings we could have gone to together this year, because our schedules actually worked out!
I shoved these bleak balloons from my mind, and then proceeded to procrastinate about waking up.
7:30…
10…
11…
Then I lazily dragged myself to the shower.
And over 20 minutes later, somehow more lazily, dragged myself back out.
And perhaps at this point, you might be thinking ‘ Good grief already! So you’re sick! It happens!‘ And at this point, I wouldn’t blame you for labelling me as a whiner, and moving onward to a more interesting read.
But I’m getting there.
After a day of laziness, French toast, Facebook perusing, ice cream, and more computer puttering, I was done. I looked over at my husband fast asleep on the couch ( Oh, to have that ability!), then I looked down at my journal with its bleak and unintelligent ramblings. And I thought to myself, ‘I gotta get out of this house.’
So I awkwardly wiggled into a pair of jeans, tossed my cellphone and camera into my purse, told my groggy husband I was going out for a bit, and then I was off.
I set forth on a long, curvy, paved pathway; Across the street, over a bridge, under a bridge, to the shiny metal door of Booster Juice, nearly an hour later. (Thank goodness it was open!)
P1050372editWhat I like most about walks, is the amount of (mostly) undisturbed thinking time. The fresh air seems to help clear my foggy mind. So I contemplated life. Life right now, not just the future. I thanked God for the sunshine and fresh air; for the luxury of free time in which I could unwind.
Sipping my drink, I thought about creation. And how I ought to surround myself with it more often. I think maybe that’s what helps to refresh the soul. Creation, trees, birds singing, green grass, fresh air… Perhaps creation stirs within us, a desire to create. Inspires us.
P1050375editI thought about how I had spent my day – on the recliner with my laptop – and how certainly wise men and philosophers did not come to the conclusions they did, in regards to life, while in such a state. I think they had to have been outside, or at least near nature; Looking to the stars, the birds of the air, the trees, the sands of the shore, etc.
I contemplated other things too; like, personality. That, perhaps I am not as introverted as I had always believed myself to be…
However, that’s a post for another day.

What boosts your spirit when you’re having a blah day?

Leave a Reply

