Journeying through ‘Mere Christianity’

P1050386editIt is a bumpy ( and slow!) road trying to read this ‘Mere Christianity’ book. A deep and critical way of thinking, that, as a non-educated (that is, no post secondary schooling) individual, I’m a little unaccustomed to. Maybe perhaps why, I am all the more determined to complete such a book.
Chapter 1 reveals that we think we, and others, ought to behave a particular way in particular situations, and that sometimes, we do not in fact, behave that way.
I have now finished chapters 2 and 3, in which C.S. Lewis spends most of the time making a case as to what the ‘Law of Human Nature’ – Or, the ‘Moral Law’ – is, and how it differs from things like, our instincts, or the Law of Nature.
“The Moral Law tells us the tune we have to play: our instincts are merely the keys.” ( C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity; pg.10)

“The law of gravity tells you what stones do if you drop them; but the Law of Human Nature tells you what human beings ought to do and do not. In other words, when you are dealing with humans, something else comes in above and beyond the actual facts…” ( pg. 17)

I look forward to seeing how C.S. Lewis develops his case for the Christian faith.
I may say (  or type, rather…) this repeatedly, but I know this book is not the be-all, and end-all to everything Christian. I’m just reading this book, like how I would read a college text-book; approaching openly, but cautiously; just hoping to gain a little insight, but knowing full-well that C.S. Lewis is just a man – not God.

Have you read any Christian books that are worth reading? (And are more than just a self-help book?)
(Have you read this one?)

3 thoughts on “Journeying through ‘Mere Christianity’

  1. I read this book this summer and liked it. You’re right in saying that it’s not a be all and end all to Christianity. Christianity means something different to every person and this is C.S. Lewis’ point of view. I do believe that he changed some of his opinions later on in life when he “found love” which made me feel a little better about the book! Hope you enjoy it!

  2. I’m only a high school grad myself. I never let the world’s idea of what’s “learned” get in my way when I want to learn more about God or Jesus. I learned speed reading in one of my English classes (better than reading the teacher’s trashy novels…and he gave me an A for my efforts!).

    Despite my ability to read very fast, it took me almost three weeks to read 26 pages of “The Knowledge of the Holy” by A.W. Tozer.

    I now understand what is meant by “devouring” a book! I had several versions of the Bible, a dictionary, and a notebook at hand so I could squeeze every bit of goodness from this excellent work on the attributes of God. It thoroughly changed my view of God (which is a good thing).

    With the Holy Spirit as our teacher, no amount of time spent learning more about the Lord is wasted. Have a blast with your reading!

    \o/

  3. I recently read “Mere Christianity,” and it propelled me to read some more Lewis (beyond Narnia). As you said, approach it, as with all Christian writing that is not the Bible, cautiously, but I believe you’ll will find reading it very rewarding! Before I saw your post, I was actually thinking to myself, “Hm, maybe I should blog about reading Lewis” haha. Happy NaNoBloPoMo 🙂

Leave a Reply

