Write or Wrong?

One of these days I might write something worth reading.
By that I mean, write something bigger than just a some random blog ramblings.
I’m trying to read more this summer. I’m quite terrible for putting down a half-read book, and not picking it up again until I’ve used up all my renewals. I never thought of myself as a bookworm, but I do generally enjoy reading  and trips to the library. I can sometimes peruse the shelves for up to an hour, hoping one  will be a gem.
However, occasionally I will trudge through a mediocre book, just to get to the end and confirm that it was indeed, mediocre. Or a cheesy book; a cheesy book that is predictable and cliché and ends with the happily ever after. Although the latter, I confess, I don’t mind once in a while. 20140623_150356edit
Sometimes, I get to thinking that maybe I too, could write a fiction story. I have no idea what about; maybe a drama, or a romantic comedy, or a tragedy… But in the back of my head I hear, ‘Write what you know’. And I think, what do I know? I know how to clean a car… I know retail… I know baking… My options are limited here! But is that really a thing? To write what you know?  Or perhaps that is just a jumping off point for wannabe writers…
I DO want to write more. Whether that happens on this blog, or somewhere else. Maybe I’ll give that fiction-writing some more thought.
.
Until then, anyone have some good book suggestions?


3 thoughts on “Write or Wrong?

  1. Not sure if you need an encouraging book, but I’ve found A Million Little Ways by Emily P. Freeman to be inspiring (from a Christian artist perspective).

  2. Debbie says that you should read anything by Karen Kingsbury. She loved a book by her called Oceans Apart.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

